Holistic Living

Green Tea & Peppermint Toner

Now I’m in my 30’s my skin has actually got worse, not better, as you’d usually expect and I find myself suffering from adult acne.  It could be since I came off the pill, opting for a non hormonal alternative, that my hormones are still settling but whatever it is I’m constantly battling spots on my chin and cheeks that leave nasty scars! 

I made this facial toner after I changed my cleansing routine from natural soap and water to coconut oil, wanting something to both remove excess oil and any makeup residue the coconut oil had missed, and also to close my pores and help heal and calm my skin.

The witch hazel is a mild astringent that helps to tighten the pores whilst the  green tea is an antioxidant and helps to calm and hydrate the skin.  Aloe vera acts as an anti inflammatory and also a mild exfoliant helping to remove dead skin cells and stimulating cell regeneration.  The apple cider vinegar balances the natural pH of the delicate skin, whilst the cooling action of the  peppermint oil stimulates blood flow to the skins surface, oxygenating the cells and encouraging repair.

Makes just over 250ml:

150ml freshly brewed organic green tea

100 ml distilled witch hazel

1 tsp vegetable glycerine

1 tsp organic aloe vera gel

1 tsp raw apple cider vinegar

10 drops peppermint pure essential oil
Method

Make the green tea in a jug with boiling water up to 150ml and leave to cool whilst brewing. Add the rest of the ingredients and whisk to combine, then pour into a clean bottle.

Use after your normal cleansing routine, before moisturiser, but give it a little shake first to mix as the peppermint oil tends to float to the top.

2 thoughts on “Green Tea & Peppermint Toner

Leave a Reply

